Double Feature

Well I’ve just done my first double feature at the cinema. London has blessed us with a beautiful 8 screen cineworld (used to be the empire in Leicester Square) so I thought I would take full advantage of it as I have some time off work.

The first film I went to see was a long anticipated one for me so I’m going to discuss the films I saw in reverse order.
So I will start with me second film of the day, Sausage Party.

I was actually left practically speechless after this film finished. If you’ve seen the trailers you will know this is an animation about food and absolutely not for kids. With a disrespectful 15 rating this film is full of awful innuendos and horrendous sex scenes. Also very graphic drug taking scenes which, call me a prude, I wouldn’t want 15-17 year olds seeing.
It’s full of gags, some of which I found fairly amusing but then I realised it was because they were all stollen, recycled jokes from other films. (Although the Star Wars reference really did make me laugh)
The cast was predictable but it worked. Kristen Wiig and Seth Rogan go together like…a hot dog and a bun, sorry I couldn’t resist.

For the right audience (ie the 4 19/20 year old lads in front of me) this film is perfect. For people like me that live by Disney/Pixar animation, it’s really not my thing.

The animation was good, although the use of 2D in the flashback scene was a bit lazy. And there’s a huge amount of diversity in the characters, well done Apatow.

With a catchy opening song and some lovable characters there’s no doubt this is going to be a huge hit.
Now, the first film I went to see was basically a dream come true for me. Woody Allen, Jesse Eisenberg and Steve Carell. Cafe Society.

I mean, really, it was going to be a winner from the start. Narrated by the man himself, Woody Allen bring this beautiful story set in the golden age of Hollywood about a young boy from New York travelling across country to find his happy ending in tinsel town whilst working for his uncle.
The narrative has an addictive quick pace and keeps the audience completely hooked from the opening image. If you’ve read any of my reviews before you will know I can’t say anything bad about Jesse. His talent is so raw and compelling. I am completely addicted to his talent and his ability to portray such versatile characters.
I also have a lot of respect for Woody Allen in that this is a male dominant film, sure enough, but the female characters in it were also great. I wouldn’t say I’m a Kristen Stewart fan, but she did this role justice.

The film is stunning, completely beautiful, the set designer deserves a pat on the back and the enchanting use of lighting helps you feel the scene before anything has even happened.

I was very very impressed and I will be going to see it again.

Woody Allen has done it again.

What’s next? Hmmmm

Double Feature

Leave a Reply

