High Rise

I have absolutely no idea how to even start writing a review about this film….it was, by far, the weirdest film I’ve ever seen. I have no clue what the story even was. It was just a load of madness happening in one place with the same people!

As a film student I feel like I should be saying “What a beautiful piece of post-modern brutality, the imagery was stunning and the film making techniques were on point” but really all I want to say is “What a load of political bullshit” haha!

I understand that it was a novel first and it has a huge cult following blah blah blah but really it’s just weird!

I would normally start off by running through the story line briefly but as I said before I can’t really do that because I don’t really know what happened.
It opened with Tom Hiddleston (who’s character is Dr. Laing) moving into a posh apartment in a large high rise block and I think we’re lead to believe he is living quite high up, being on the 25th floor, because he is a doctor. It’s kind of organised by wealth, if you have a lot of money or a good job or just generally a posh twat you got to live at the top of the building. But, if you are working class and have loads of kids and not a lot of money then you live a bit lower down.
Luke Evans character was probably my favourite in the film, he was really interesting. He is the father of 4 children and along with his wife they live in the lower numbers. He was infatuated by Sienna Millers character but I’m not really sure why and that all got a bit messy when he found out that her child was actually the child of the Architect which then brings us to introduce Jeremy Irons character. He plays the Architect (I think his characters name is Mr. Royal…really…) he was the creator and therefor owner of the building and he seems very stressed and agitated throughout the film.

I really have no idea where I’m going with this because it’s so confusing in my head.

Basically if you like cult classics, this is going to be one. And if you want to see some incredible acting, go and see it because Hiddleston and Evans were completely flawless. And if you like very graphic sex scenes, go and see this. But if you want a nice cosy film with an easy story and a bit of love and humour, don’t go and see it.

It really is weird.
It’s a very good example of what an intense class system can do to humanity. And it ends with Sienna Millers child sitting on a very high ladder listening to Margaret Thatcher.

Oh do you know what, I don’t get it. It’s weird.

You decide.

High Rise

Leave a Reply

