The Big Short

I went to see this film today as it’s one of the last of the “Best Picture” Oscar nominations that I have left to see.
I was really looking forward to it as I loved Moneyball and The Bright Side but unfortunately it really didn’t do anything for me.
I feel like if you don’t know anything about the American Economy or about mortgages in general, this film could be in Elvish and it would make more sense. I honestly had no idea what was going on throughout and the choppy, trying-to-be-edgy editing really had no effect on me whatsoever.
The best, and only good, thing about this film was Steve Carrell, he portrayed his character beautifully and (aside from Foxcatcher) I believe this film might have actually shown him to be a serious actor. He should be very proud of himself for bringing together this shambles of a film.
It’s such a shame because all the way through I was almost forcing myself to enjoy it and I even went into it with the hope that this might bring me round to becoming (one day) a Christian Bale fan. Anyone who knows me, knows how much I hate him, not only as an actor but as a person as well. But unfortunately all The Big Short did was assure me that I really don’t like Christian Bale. Anyone could have played his role, and most actors would have actually made the audience feel for him, whereas I just hated him, and I don’t think that was the point.
So, all in all, I wish I’d been to see Spotlight instead. Or even Star Wars: The Force Awakens….for the fifth time.
Sorry folks, this one didn’t do it for me.

I just realized I totally forgot to mention Ryan Gosling….which I suppose says a lot about his performance.

Oh – I did however enjoy Brad Pitts wig.

The Big Short

Leave a Reply

